Goodbye New York

I’ll pack a bit later
let me enjoy leaves as they fall
as Norah cries on the radio
while she sings a sad song
Manhattan will be waiting for me, I know
and this letters will remain on the floor
autumn will be here again, I know
but you… you won’t.
 
[Chorus A]
 
So goodbye New York
bye bye my love
old streets and new hopes
maybe one day you will know
that I miss you so
specially in the nights of snow
when you’re laying next to someone.
 
My tea’s getting colder
maybe I left a window open
so the wind will be my company
since the cat ran away last week
stories will be written, I know
and my name will be in some corridor
I’ll think of you in each airport
but you… you won’t think of me anymore.
 
[Chorus A]
 
So goodbye New York
bye bye my love
old streets and new hopes
maybe one day you will know
that I miss you so
specially in the nights of snow
when you’re laying next to someone.
 
[Chorus B]
 
So goodbye New York
bye bye to the ones I know
save a hug for my return
maybe we will laugh at this song
so everyone can actually know
that I still miss you so
specially in the nights of snow
even when I’m laying next to someone.
unknown

“Lights in Staten Island where I wrote this song”. Fotografía propia. 

Responder

