Begin again

I packed my bags
I left so many things behind
I wanted to start over
and say goodbye.
I rushed things
I hurt the ones who loved me
I hurt myself the most
with unspoken words.
But I needed a chance
to prove myself
I could begin again.
Waves on my rearview
wind on my face
liberty scares you
this is not a escape
I stopped running away
the day I found my place
maybe you were the reason
for me to stay.
The stars showed up
the night when moon turned red
as my cheeks when you talk
and you taught me to trust.
I grew a beard
I wrote so many poems
I sold my bed
so I could sleep again.
I just needed space
a place can call my own
and begin again.
Birds on the clear view
a smile on my face
clarity blinds you
this is not a phase
I quit running away
the day I found you there
standing on the corner
a state of grace
maybe you were the reason
for me to stay
maybe you were the reason
to begin again.

 

13533223_10154289482511624_6362149970147535325_n (1)

“Sunset” picture by a friend of mine, D.R.

Responder

