Maybe

Maybe yes, I can be addicted to nostalgia, just a little bit
Addicted to my folk songs on a Wednesday night
To the raindrops that revelry lays on my sight
So I said an absolute no to happiness
Just for tonight
Just for today, maybe, I don’t need it

Maybe now I understand the price I’ve paid
And the hours I’ve profaned, the wasted days
Holding on too many excuses, the reasons I proclaimed fair
I held myself just to let me fall
My will was to suffer, to crawl
Just for tonight
Just for today, maybe, I need it

And maybe it’s just a winter’s whim
The remains of a heartless cold
But if my prerogative was not to depend on plans
Why don’t I try to be what no one wants?
To feel what’s been forbidden, feel what’s not so human
Just for tonight
Just for today, maybe, I need myself

Yes, maybe just for today I need myself less human
Less careful to the midnight old-fashioned clichés
Not entitled to their opinions
Or at least, maybe, just to yours
The one that for so long molded my thoughts
Just for tonight
Just for today, maybe, I don’t need you

Maybe I just became into a likely bet
And honestly I want to lose on purpose, I swear
Mocking years and their prayers
Finally feeling the confessions from my hands
Just for tonight
Just for today, maybe, I don’t need myself.

imatge.php

Painting by Salvador Dali, “Nostalgic Echo”, 1935.

2 pensamientos en “Maybe

Responder

